Different Views

Recently, I visited my grandpa in the middle of almost nowhere Kentucky. Like, literally, they live at least 5 miles away form the nearest town.  I don’t mean to say that all of Kentucky is like this, but form what I saw, the definition of a city in the eyes of a citizen of Murray, Kentucky and my eyes is very different.

Welcome to Murray

This one town I visited can’t even really be considered a town. It isn’t even big enough to have a true streetlight. The only light they have is a flashing yellow light that tells people to slow down.

Compared to this small, small town, Murray, Kentucky looks like a city, but it really isn’t. Or at least, not to me. The population of the city is 20,000 people. Where I live it is about 60,000 people. However, Murray, Kentucky has more square kilometers than Fountian Valley has so maybe that is how some poeple determine whether or not it is a city. But there it must also be taken into account that Murray is very spread out, while Foutnain Valley is more condensed. I find that the town of Fountain Valley has a few more streets, blocks, and buildings than Murray. However, maybe I just didn’t see enough of the town. Murray is after all considered to be the 22nd largest city in Kentucky.

Now,  as I ramble on and on about how small some of the towns in Kentucky are, I should probably get to the point. The point is the difference in views between people in different areas. While the topic may be the same, I think differently about it than somebady form say Murray, Kentucky.

In the first paragraph of A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens, there are superaltives given of different statements: “It was the best of times, it was the worst of time, it was the age of wisdom, it was the age of foolishness…..” I took this paragraph as to mean that different people will interpret a scene or time differently. No two human being think exactly alike and throughout their lives that have experiences times that will sway their opinions. For my opinion about the size of a city, it is influenced by my visiting cities like NYC, Washington D.C., Los Angeles, and others. To me a city is a bustling metropolis, but that isn’t the same for everyone else.

Leave a Reply

