“I Don’t Care”

“…Don’t let what they say keep you up at night
And if they give you shhhh…
Then they can walk on by….”

– “Wings”– Little Mix

There is a difference between saying the phrase “I don’t care” and actually meaning it. There is a difference between telling someone “I don’t care” and actually trying to convince yourself of that fact.

My friend comes to me with a story of something that happened with her and a friend of hers. I listen and as I listen I wonder if when she says, the famous phrase that I have heard a million times before from myself and others, “… but I don’t care”  she realizes that that phrase doesn’t change anything. However, it makes it obvious that the person does care. They care enough to tell me this story. They care enough to have to make that comment. They care enough to try and convince themselves that what was said isn’t important. Most of the time I don’t think that the person saying this phrase is trying to convince me, but more themselves.

The truth is that when I say that, or my friend says that, they do care. In fact we care more than we wish to admit. I just wish that someone would realize what that phrase means and actaully do something about it when they hear it. They don’t just sit there and laugh it off or wonder why the person is telling them what they are telling them. It is because they do care. They care and they want you to do something about it. They want you to realize it without having you tell them outright. In the Greek Novel, Oedipus, Antigone doesn’t care at all about what people say about her. She just does what she wants to do and doesn’t care about others’ opinions.

There is no need to cover your feelings like they are a weakness. Feelings are important. They are what make you who you are. If you don’t feel then you don’t experience all of the greater experiences in life. I feel like you need to experience the horrible to appreciate the great so much better.

Leave a Reply

